The Bali Process on People Smuggling, Trafficking in Persons and Related Transnational Crime


IGC (Intergovernmental Consultations on Asylum, Refugee and Migration Policies in Europe, North America and Australia)

The IGC is an informal, non-decision-making forum for intergovernmental information exchange and policy debate on all issues of relevance to the management of international migratory flows.

Participating States

In its current configuration, the IGC brings together the following 16 participating states: Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Finland, Germany, Ireland, Itlay, the Netherlands, Norway, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, the United Kingdom, and the United States of America. UNHCR, IOM and the European Commission also participate in the IGC process. The chair rotates among the participating States.

Areas of Interest

Major subjects dealt with between 1985 and 2001 have included: asylum, data, temporary protection, return, smuggling and trafficking, unaccompanied minors, family reunification, reception in the region, country of origin information, specific outflows, illegal migration, burden sharing, and the use of technology in the management of mogration. Recent activities have initiated on immigration policies and immigration and national security.

Contact Details

Palais des Nations
CH-1211 Geneva 10

Tel: +41-22 917 8361/62
Fax: +41-22 917 8058

Visit for more informations.